Tuesday, February 17, 2015

Breaking All The Rules by Cynthia Sax


Title: Breaking All The Rules

Author: Cynthia Sax

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers

Genre: Romance, Contemporary

Length: 244 Pages

Rating: 4.5 Stars

Summary:

Nathan Lawford, Blaine Technologies' chief financial officer, is known as the Iceman. He conducts his personal and business affairs without emotion, never allowing himself to become involved with anyone. When Nate sees something or someone he wants, he negotiates, paying a simple, set monetary price.
Now he wants Camille, the company's green-haired intern.
Camille Joplin Trent never expected to be paid to pleasure the man of her dreams. She can't quite figure out why this is a bad thing. Nate is intelligent, handsome, sophisticated—everything she's ever wanted in a lover and never thought she could have. Their contract is for a month, thirty lust-filled days of making every sexual fantasy they've ever had come true. At the end of this month, the rules state that their relationship will end.
Of course, Camille has never been good at following rules.

Review4.5 Stars for me

Where has this author been and why haven't I heard of her? This is the first book that I have read by this author and I didn't feel lost by not reading any of the other books by her. This is a stand alone book.

The author pulled me into the story right away and I just gobbled it up. I literally stayed up to finish it and I just wanted to read more by this author so I purchased "Flashes of Me" since I got to meet Henley in this book. 

This book is hot! It has a little bit of a different twist in it than most books. It made me like it that much more because of it. (You'll need to read the book to find the twist out.)

Okay, I'm going to do this review a little different and try it this way: 

Let's see the line up of some of the players: 

Camille - she is going to be herself no matter what. She really doesn't have a choice, it's just how she is. No one is going to change her. She's very smart and knows what she wants and she doesn't settle. She's also very humorous and she will cause you to chuckle. 

Nathan - Cold as ice - you'll want him as your bbf. When he thaws, he's super hot! He's set in his ways and Camille helps break him out of those ways. 

Mom- what a gold digging hateful woman. That being said I could have seen more interaction between them lol She is something else though.

Dad- Really? A man with too much money who thinks everyone has a price. He can be blunt, too blunt sometimes.

I think both of them love their son, they just need to be guided on how to show it.

Monday, February 16, 2015

Becoming the Whiskey Princess is out today!

Happy Release Day!




ABOUT THE BOOK



For better or worse, for richer or poorer, ‘til almost death do they part…

Amberlyn Reilly took a risk and found a new life in Ireland. She did something drastic and jumped in front of a loaded gun for the one she knew she couldn’t lose. And with her mother’s last request, she did more than fall in love. She fell into Declan O’Callaghan—with her eyes wide open and her damaged heart and soul leading the way.

When Irish-born Declan O’Callaghan spotted Amberlyn across the lake, he knew his life was about to change. And it did. Now he has everything he’s ever dreamed of —he’s marrying for love, and with that love, the family distillery will now be his as long as he marries before the deadline.

Things are moving fast. It’s now or never. And as their beautiful relationship grows, time is something these two don’t have a lot of. Declan’s and Amberlyn’s souls are tightly tethered, but will the questions and second thoughts of others prevent them from having a life they’ve both only begun to dream of? Will family and the obligations that come with the O’Callaghan name push them to their breaking point? Or has the Whiskey Prince truly found his happily ever after taking Amberlyn as his Princess?



AVAILABLE TODAY!
AMAZON  ♥  KOBO  ♥  B&N ♥  iTunes




GRAB THE FIRST BOOK FOR ONLY 99¢


Take a risk.
Do something drastic.
Fall in love.

When Amberlyn Reilly loses her mother, her whole world comes crashing down. Having been caretaker to her for most of her teenage years, Amberlyn is inexperienced in many aspects of life. She hasn’t had time to live, have fun, or enjoy even the little things. It’s only when a letter from her mother, asking her to fulfill three things, sends her off to Ireland to live a life she never thought possible that she begins to heal.

Declan O’Callaghan was born and raised in Ireland and has his family’s legendary whiskey in his veins. He’s shy and not a fan of the pressure and spotlight that comes with his family name, or the title he was given at birth—the Whiskey Prince. Declan knows just what he wants and that is to take over the family dynasty, but when his father gives him an ultimatum, everything he’s worked for could come undone in the blink of an eye.

With six months to get married, the reclusive Declan spots Amberlyn across a lake and instantly feels the need to know her. Soon, the two find themselves traveling down a path neither expected. However, like any road, there are bumps and side streets to derail them. Can Declan help find the pieces that will make Amberlyn whole again? And will Amberlyn stay or run when she learns of Declan’s deadline of marriage?



AMAZON  ♥  KOBO  ♥  B&N  ♥  iTunes





 Enter to win a $50 Gift Card to Amazon or B&N.
  • Open international, as long as the gift card can be gifted to you via email.
  • Contest ends Monday, February 24th.
  • Winner will be announced on Toni Aleo's Facebook, and via the Rafflecopter. 
  • Once the winner has been announced, winner has 48 hours to claim prize or else a new winner will be chosen.   

a Rafflecopter giveaway




ABOUT THE AUTHOR


Toni Aleo is the author of the Nasvhille Assassins series: Taking ShotsTrying to ScoreEmpty Net, Falling for the Backup, and Blue Lines.

When not rooting for her beloved Nashville Predators, she’s probably going to her husband’s and son’s hockey games and her daughter’s dance competitions, taking pictures, scrap-booking, or reading the latest romance novel.

She lives in the Nashville area with her husband, two children, and a bulldog. Read more about Toni here.



Social Media Links:

Monday, February 9, 2015

Double Cover Reveal: Gods & Monsters and Tormented by Jani Kay



We are excited to share with you all the covers for the upcoming additions to Jani Kay’s Scorpio Stingers MC Series. Check out the covers for Gods & Monsters along with Tormented. 

          

Gods & Monsters— Book #3 in the Scorpio Stinger MC Series
Release Date: March 2015

 SYNOPSIS

I never look in a mirror. I don’t need to. If I want to see what I look like, I just look at my twin. Daemon and I are identical in every way  from the outside. That’s where it ends.

Born five minutes after me, my brother hates that he came second. It irks him that I breathed life into my lungs first. Ever since he’s been trying to steal everything I have. Everything I love.
To own it first.
Until the day I, Cobra Malone, become president of the Scorpio Stinger MC. I throw him out like the garbage he is. Rotten filth won’t be able to taunt me any longer.
How wrong I am.
Evil knows no barriers. It stops at nothing. It won’t rest until it gets what it wants. And he wants what is mine. MINE. He wants my woman. My air. My reason for living.

I’ll die before I let him take Mia from me. 

Will this be a battle to the end? Till the last man is left standing?
When two wills this strong clash, there will be chaos . . . and blood.
Who will win? The God or The Monster?

===============================================

Tormented  Book #4 in the Scorpio Stinger MC Series



SYNOPSIS

Can there be redemption for a man with a tortured soul and a twisted heart?


Harrison:
Anger and hatred taint my soul.
I hate bikers. Especially Ryder Knox, VP of the Scorpio Stinger MC, a foulmouthed biker and the one my little sister, Jade, has fallen for. 
Man against man, the biker and I fight for our beliefs, neither giving in.

A tragic loss when I was much younger changes the course of my life, leaving me with rage and fury in my heart and my gut. There is no room for love.
I make it my life's work as a cop to wipe out the scum of the earth. It’s my singular focus. My passion. Nothing else matters. I don’t want anything more.  No relationships, no family of my own to distract me.

Until I meet Ryder's sister, Eva. She's off limits, but despite my best intentions, I just can’t get the dark haired beauty out of my mind. I need Eva to submit to me and give me the control I so desperately crave.

Can Eva tame the beast in me and make me human again? Can she help me redeem myself for what I put Jade and Ryder through?



Or is HELL the only place for a man like me. A man so twisted and tortured? A beast?


Eva:
Harrison. Dark. Broody.
Definitely tormented.
A beast?

Maybe he is, but that doesn’t stop me from wanting him. On some deep level we connect—I see past the damaged outer into his very soul. Can I be the one to crack through his hardened heart and bring out the real man inside he’s hiding—even from himself?

Is there redemption for a man like Harrison Summers?
Or will he drag me straight into hell with him?

===============================================

Scorpio Stinger MC Reading Order


Ryder - Prequel Book #0.5 http://amzn.to/16FqI8o
Two Worlds Colliding Book #1 http://amzn.to/18YEzbA
Unchain My Heart Book #2 http://amzn.to/1CGDC3M
A Biker Christmas Novella Book #2.5 http://amzn.to/1zK5kZP
Gods & Monsters Book #3 Add To Goodreads
Tormented Book #4 Add To Goodreads

===============================================

MEET JANI KAY
Jani has been married for a long time to a special man, and her two children and their partners are the sunshine in her life. She is a voracious reader and would spend her last dollar on a book - always fascinated that for the mere price of a book, she can escape her world for a while and see through someone else's eyes.

Besides reading, her favorite 'thing' is traveling - she has traveled the world, learning about the ways people live and has come to the realization that no matter where we live, we all ultimately want the same things. Her hobby - Scrapbooking - keeps her up till way after midnight and her usual subjects are her family and her travels.

Ever since she can remember, Jani wanted to write stories about people, about their lives and loves. Relationships and Happiness - arguably the most difficult things to master in life and yet exactly what everyone ultimately desires (in her humble opinion).

Website I Email I Facebook I Amazon I  Twitter I  Goodreads 
EMAIL: janikaybooks@gmail.com

Thursday, February 5, 2015

Reaper's Property by Joanna Wylde


Rating: 4 Stars

Title: Reaper's Property (Reapers Motorcycle Club Book 1)
 
Author:  Joanna Wylde
 
Publisher: Ellora's Cave Publishing Inc.
 
Genre:  Contemporary Erotic Romance

Length: 306 Pages   

Summary :  

Marie doesn’t need a complication like Horse. The massive, tattooed, badass biker who shows up at her brother’s house one afternoon doesn’t agree. He wants Marie on his bike and in his bed. Now.

But Marie just left her abusive jerk of an ex-husband and she’s not looking for a new man. Especially one like Horse—she doesn’t know his real name or where he lives, she’s ninety percent certain he’s a criminal and that the “business” he talks with her brother isn’t website design. She needs him out of her life, which would be a snap if he’d just stop giving her mind-blowing orgasms.

Horse is part of the Reapers Motorcycle Club, and when he wants something, he takes it. What he wants is Marie, but she’s not interested in becoming “property of”.

Then her brother steals from the club. Marie can save him by giving Horse what he wants—at home, in public, on his bike… If she’s a very, very good girl, she’ll get lots more of those orgasms only he can offer, and he’ll let her brother live.

Maybe.





Review

I decided to read this as part of my Popsugar 2015 Reading Challenge for the category of "a book a friend recommended" (thanks Kali!). 

This was my first MC (Motorcycle Club) book! I wasn't really sure what to expect. My only experience with this type of thing came from the three or four episodes of Sons of Anarchy that I've seen. Surprisingly, I really liked the show (who doesn't love watching Charlie Hunnam?), but there are certain aspects of this lifestyle that I don't like so I was a little apprehensive about reading an MC book. I loved it! Those things were still present in the book, but it wasn't 'in your face' and most of it didn't revolve around the main characters, so it didn't bother me.

This book was HOT! Hot and steamy and sexy! It's well written with great characters that are believable, likable and well developed. The relationships grew from the beginning to the end. The two main characters, as individuals, grew from the beginning to the end. The book was paced well  and gave you some insight in to the life of a motorcycle club.

I have this quirk. When I hear different men's names, I tend to think of them in bed with a woman calling out their names. Don't laugh! I think it's my way of deciding if it's a sexy name or not. So that said, I had difficulty with the name Horse. I'm cracking up as I'm writing this because I know that somebody, somewhere is dying laughing while reading this, but come on! I thought they story of why that was his name was comical and I get that they all have street names in the club but every time she called him Horse or it would say that she called his name while in the throes it just made me giggle. That was truly my only issue with this book and it's just a personal quirk of mine.

I loved Marie. I loved how she had the strength to remove herself from a bad situation. I loved her loyalty, to both her mom and her brother and eventually to Horse and the club. She comes across as this relatively quiet girl but she has some spirit and can be feisty when she needed to be. I really liked her relationship with her brother in the beginning, how she was able to see past his flaws and just see her brother and how he was always there for her.

Horse grows on you. He's pretty rough around the edges at first but he's a good guy. He knows what he wants and he's determined to get it. He's protective of those he cares about and by the end you see the softer side of him. And who doesn't love the bad boy? I know I do!

If you haven't checked out this series yet (like me!) then you are missing out and should definitely check it out. It is worth the read. Might want to have your significant other handy while you're reading it though.

Purchase Reaper's Property (Reapers Motorcycle Club Book 1) on Amazon. (Just click the title)

Wednesday, January 28, 2015

Nine Minutes by Beth Flynn


Rating: 5 stars

Title: Nine Minutes

Author: Beth Flynn

Publisher: Beth Flynn

Genre: Contemporary Romance, Suspense, Mystery

Length: 326 pages

Summary:

On May 15, 1975, fifteen-year-old Ginny Lemon is abducted from a convenience store in Fort Lauderdale by a member of one of the most notorious and brutal motorcycle gangs in South Florida.

From that moment on, her life is forever changed. She gets a new name, a new identity and a new life in the midst of the gang’s base on the edge of the Florida Everglades—a frightening, rough and violent world much like the swamps themselves, where everyone has an alias and loyalty is tantamount to survival.

And at the center of it all is the gang’s leader, Grizz: massive, ruggedly handsome, terrifying and somehow, when it comes to Ginny, tender. She becomes his obsession and the one true love of his life.

So begins a tale of emotional obsession and manipulation, of a young woman ripped from everything she knows and forced to lean on the one person who provides attention, affection and care: her captor. Precocious and intelligent, but still very much a teenager, Ginny struggles to adapt to her existence, initially fighting and then coming to terms with her captivity. 

Will she be rescued? Will she escape? Will she get out alive—or get out at all? Part psychological thriller, part coming-of-age novel, filled with mystery, romance and unexpected turns, Nine Minutes takes readers into the world of one motorcycle gang and inside the heart of a young girl, whose abduction brought about its fall.


Review:

Beth Flynn is a genius. 

Holy smokes what did I just read? This book grabs you from the beginning and doesn't let go. When you get to the end you're like what did I just read? I usually can tell you how a book is going to be throughout the book, but not with this book. Wow, just wow. There are twists and turns in this book I did not see coming. I'm still kind of dumbfounded.

I can see how she fell in love with Grizz. Grizz  does love her, he spoils her, she gets whatever she wants but isn't a princess. Unfortunately she see's some things regarding the club that she doesn't like at all so she stays out of club business as much as possible.  She's pretty much a loaner with a few exceptions. 

I don't know if I should feel stupid for not seeing how this book was going to end or just say the author is a genius. As you can see from the first sentence of this review, I'm going with Beth Flynn is a genius!

I cannot wait for the sequel to this book. 

Sunday, January 25, 2015

Wings Over Poppies by J.A. DeRouen




Rating: 4.5 Star

Title: Wings Over Poppies

Author: J.A. DeRouen

Publisher: J.A. DeRouen

Genre: Contemporary Romance, New Adult

Length: 230 pages

Summary:

Perfection. One word. Three syllables. Every reason why I’ll never have the one thing I truly want. I stand dutifully on the pedestal he’s built, waiting for the day he truly sees me.

Then one amazing night, he lets down his walls, only to leave me the next day. 

Years have passed, and I’ve tried to move on with my life. But I still dream of him. I still miss him everyday. The memories haunt me. How can I look to the future when my past remains a mystery? The time has come to find the boy who stole my heart and ran away without a word.

But not everyone who is lost wants to be found.


My name is Alexandra Fontaine, and this is my story of unfinished love. 

Wings Over Poppies is book #2 in the Over series and can be read as a standalone novel. 



Review:

This is the first time that I have read this author and she is amazing! This book is the second part in the series Over and I did not read the first book and I didn't feel lost by not reading it. Will I go back and read the first book, Hope Over Fear, yes, I will because I absolutely loved this book.

This book will not only break your heart but it will put it back together again stronger than before. I don't read a lot of second chance romance, so I'm really glad that I read this one. Seriously, the author pulls you in with the blurb alone. AND here's a plus, the book lived up to the blurb. Have you read a blurb and go "Wow, that sounds like a great book! I need to read it!"? Then you read that book and you're like "what just happened? That blurb lied!" That's not what happens in this book.

You get to meet Alex and West, see their friendship develop from 6 years ago, laugh with them, cry with them. Then you get to see them now, see what they've become, see who they've become as adults. You'll want to smack West a few times and tell Alex don't give up!  This book had me laughing on one page and then ready to cry 2 pages later. 

I adored this book and I hope you will too!

Friday, January 23, 2015

Never Never by Collen Hoover & Tarryn Fisher



Rating: 5 Stars

Title: Never Never (Book 1 of a series) This is a serial.
 
Author:  Colleen Hoover & Tarryn Fisher
 
Publisher: Hoover Ink
 
Genre:  Young Adult/Suspense/Romance

Length: 140 Pages   

Summary :  


Best friends since they could walk. In love since the age of fourteen.

Complete strangers since this morning.


He'll do anything to remember. She'll do anything to forget. 



Review
  
First, I want to address something I've been seeing around Facebook and on various review sites. Please note the part above where I mention that this is a serial. This is noted on the Amazon page. The authors announced this ahead of the release and it has been fairly well known within the book/reading community. As part one of a serial, this book ends in a major cliffhanger. I've seen lots and lots of people complaining about this. The authors have announced that the second book will be out in mid-May. I have no idea if there is a part three or when it will be out if there is. So now you have been warned. If you choose to purchase this book, do it with the full knowledge that there is a cliffhanger and it's a serial.

Wow. Just wow. This book pulls you in and doesn't let you go until the end of the ride. Even then, you'll be thinking about it for days. Strap in and put the safety bar down, because you're gonna need it with this one! There are so many twists and turns in this book that you're not going to know which way is up when the ride is over.

I love Silas. He's a total sweetheart (so far) and seems to genuinely care about people. Especially Charlie. Even without knowing the full story, he knows that she's important to him, and that's all that matters. Charlie is a little harder. She's a little more abrasive and a little harder to like but she grows on you. She's independent and determined. She also redeems herself by how she treats her little sister and the fact that she's not liking who she used to be.

Overall, I loved this book. I loved the fact that I couldn't stop thinking about it for days afterwards. I love that I am completely clueless as to where this may or may not be headed when I'm usually really good at figuring things out. And I absolutely cannot wait for May!

Purchase Never Never (Volume 1) on Amazon. (Just click the title)