Saturday, November 5, 2011

Summer's Journey by Summer Daniels

My Rating: 4 Stars

Title: Summer's Journey (Volume One: Losing Control)

Author: Summer Daniels

Genre: True Romance/Erotica Series

Length: 19 Pages

**Sexual Rating:  *Mild to Explicit 
      (This particular chapter is mild but future installments promise to be very explicit, with elements of D/s. It is labeled as erotica, so be aware of this before you begin.)


Fortyish, newly divorced, searching and longing for something different. Something fulfilling and exciting, somewhere far outside my ordinary comfort zone.

Come with me on my journey of discovery. Explore with me. Touch, taste and feel with me.

Lots more to come following my introduction to you in this first volume of a multi-part True Romance / Erotica series.

“Perhaps I was being picky, but I really didn’t think being able to spell orgasm without being spotted a vowel was asking too much.”

Approximately 6,000 words – this first volume is somewhere around 90% background story, and 10% erotic.

Future volumes will be more explicit as I expand my horizons and detail my journey of sexual self-discovery. 


This is a self published series based on the author's life after her divorce, and choice's that she made in moving forward and re-discovering herself. It is a very well written narrative that shows the courage and determination needed to go forward with life and jump back into the dating pool. It also shows the feelings and thoughts associated with a divorce and that past relationship, the doubts you feel afterwards and the questions that inevitably arise. 

This installment is primarily to give you the background of her life and what led her to this point, and also to set up future volumes. We get to see what led her to this point in her life and we get to meet Mark, who is not at all what is expected and promises to be very interesting.Ms. Daniels does a fantastic job of drawing you. Erotica is not typically a genre that I read, but I am looking forward to seeing what happens next.

I have no idea many chapters there will be in the series, so I can't say how much it would cost in total to continue reading, but so far the chapters are priced at $.99. Not too bad for an entertaining, quick read. When this author first contacted me, I wasn't sure what to expect. As a previously unpublished author with a self-published book, I was a little leery. With authors that I've never heard of before, with these qualifications, you just never know what to expect. I was pleasantly surprised with this one. As mentioned - it is very well written and engrossing. In truth, the only reason I gave it a four star review is simply because of the formatting of individual chapters for purchase, which is simply not my preference. Check it out! And check back here for reviews of future volumes.

Tuesday, November 1, 2011

Angel's Desire (Book Two of The Fallen Warriors Series) by Rosalie Lario

My Rating: 5 Stars

Title: Angel's Desire (Book Two of The Fallen Warrior Series)

Author: Rosalie Lario

Genre: Contemporary Paranormal Romance

Length: 114 Pages
**Sexual Rating:  Explicit


In a world where angels rule over humans, twelve outcasts dare to defy expectation, warring with their angel brethren to prevent the extinction of humankind.

They are The Fallen.

Fallen angel Ethan has been outcast due to his love of humankind. In order to preserve his immortality, he must find a mate with angel blood…but the one woman he desires blames him for her father’s death. As a teenager, Tayla had a fierce crush on Ethan, her angel father’s best friend. She was humiliated when he rejected her, claiming she was too young for him. Her love turned to hate when he failed to save her father from being killed by the other angels.

Battle looms on the horizon, and Ethan can no longer afford to waste time. He must claim Tayla as his…but convincing her she’s his mate won’t be so easy.


 First let me say - if you haven't read the first book in this series "For Love of an Angel", go check it out. My review for that one can be found here. These books can be read as stand alone books, but you will understand the history of the fallen much better if you start with the first one. Besides that, it is an excellent book that you won't want to miss. 

I love this series. I fell in love with The Fallen in the first book, and the second in the series did not disappoint. In the first book we got a glimpse of Ethan and Tayla's story, but just enough to be intriguing. Now, we get to witness the rest of their story unfold, with insight into their history as well. 

I love how Ms. Lario manages to write sexy, dominant men without making them dominate the women. And the women in these books hold their own. They are strong, independent, capable women that choose to stay with their men. The men also come across as sensitive without losing any of their masculinity. It's a fantastic blend that isn't always easily (or successfully) pulled off, but this author does it well. 

Tayla is hindered by events, and beliefs, from her past but is a strong enough person to understand this about herself and try to look past it. Ethan is a gentle guy that cares deeply for Tayla and is confident enough to give her the space she needs to work it out on her own. Both are fantastic characters.

We get some more detail in this book about the events that led to The Fallen becoming what they are. We also get to see a bit more about what the (so-called) good angels are planning for the humans and we get an actual encounter with one. I'm looking forward to seeing what happens next, how the fallen will defeat them or convince the human population of what's going on. It's not easy to convince people that they are wrong, especially about things they've believed to be true for years, or even generations. They have their work cut out for them.

It's very interesting how the book manages to convey the concept of how the good or the bad is all a matter of perception. Whether or not that was the author's intent, it is there and it is very well done. It's a subtle reminder that you can't judge a person by appearance (or public opinion) alone.

Throughout the book, we get to see more of the cave that The Fallen live in, which is amazing, we get to see more of Michael and Eva (from Book One) and more of the other Fallen. I can't wait to read the next book and see what happens next, and who we get to learn more about. Personally, I'm voting for Seth. If you haven't checked out this series yet, you're really missing out and I highly recommend you do so immediately. It's a quick, entertaining read and it will hook you and reel you in. Enjoy!